Vegan Tartar Sauce


Allergen and Diet Summary

Vegan
Ketogenic
Dairy-Free
Eggs-Free
Gluten-Free

Recipe Categories

Nutrients

NutrientGramsRDA
Carbs2.7g0.9%
of which Sugars0.8g0.9%
Fats4.8g7.4%
of which Saturates1g5%
Proteins2.1g4.6%
Fibers0.8g3.2%
* All data is per serving

SAVE

INFO

5m

NUTRITION

63KCAL

SHARE

After the success of our cashew mayo, we decided to use this creamy dip as a base for other delicious, plant-based sauces.

So today we want to show you how to make a vegan tartar sauce from scratch with egg-free mayonnaise.

Tartar sauce is a French condiment that combines mayo with herbs and pickles. It's often served with fish, but we also love it with roasted potatoes, sandwiches, and salads.

Being prepared with eggs, the classic recipe is not suitable for those following a vegan diet or with egg allergies. So, to help everyone enjoy this delicious dip, we made our recipe allergen-free and 100% plant-based.

We made our vegan mayo with soaked and blended cashew nuts and whipped aquafaba. It's smooth, rich, flavorful, and low in fats.

Then, we added sour pickles, tangy lemon juice, oniony chives, and capers, all mixed into creamy goodness.

Time to get started!

Ingredients


ALLERGY ADVICE Allergens are marked in bold
Capers2 tsp
Pickled Gherkins50 g
Fresh Chives2 tbsp
Fresh Parsley2 tbsp
Lemon Juice2 tbsp
Vegan Mayo200 g

step 1

On a chopping board, finely chop the capers, gherkins, chives, and parsley.

step 2

Add the chopped herbs and pickles to a bowl along with the mayonnaise and lemon juice.

To prepare the vegan mayo follow our recipe here.

step 3

Stir the ingredients well into a creamy sauce and keep it in the fridge.

Check out our FAQ below for tasty ideas on what to serve this tartar sauce with.

FAQ

How long does homemade tartar sauce last?

When stored properly, it can keep for up to a week.

We recommend you keep this vegan dip in the fridge in a tight seal jar.

This way the sauce won't dry out, and it will stay fresher for longer.

Is the classic recipe vegan?

The traditional tartar sauce is prepared with mayonnaise which contains eggs.

Therefore, it isn't suitable for those following a plant-based diet or with egg allergy.

Our recipe, instead, is made with a nut-based mayo that is vegan and low in fats.

What can I use instead of the vegan mayo?

You can replace our cashew mayo with any other store-bought vegan mayonnaise.

Alternatively, swap it with plant-based yogurt such as coconut or soy yogurt or try to make it with hummus.

What is tartar sauce used for?

This creamy dip often accompanies fish dishes, like salmon, fish cakes, or shrimps.

However, it's just as perfect with many plant-based recipes.

For example, we love it as a sandwich filling, salad dressing, and healthy dip for breadsticks and crudités.

It also pairs wonderfully with bean burgers, roasted potatoes, and falafels.

Tips

You can swap chives with fresh dill or finely chopped shallots.