Vegan Tartar Sauce

This creamy dip is prepared with lemon, herbs, pickles, and low-fat cashew mayo. It's perfect with roasted potatoes, sandwiches, salads, and vegan burgers.

Vegan Tartar Sauce Recipe


Nutrition per serving
Net Carbs3.4 g1.2%
of which Sugars1.6 g1.8%
Fibers0.8 g2.7%
Fats4.8 g7.4%
of which Saturates1 g5%
of which Omega 30 g0.4%
Proteins2.1 g4.5%
Calcium4 mg0.4%
Vitamin A3 mcg0.5%
Vitamin C2 mg2.6%
Iron0.1 mg0.4%
Potassium11 mg0.3%
Sodium37 mg1.6%
Cholesterol0 mg0%
Kcal66 3.3%
Macro split
  • net carbs 31%
  • sugars 14%
  • fats 44%
  • saturates 9%
  • proteins 19%
  • fibers 7%
*RDA based on a 2000 kcal diet;
**Nutritional data sources: USDA, food labels.
66 per serving

After the success of our cashew mayo, we decided to use this creamy dip as a base for other delicious, plant-based sauces.

So today we want to show you how to make a vegan tartar sauce from scratch with egg-free mayonnaise.

Tartar sauce is a French condiment that combines mayo with herbs and pickles. It's often served with fish, but we also love it with roasted potatoes, sandwiches, and salads.

Being prepared with eggs, the classic recipe is not suitable for those following a vegan diet or with egg allergies. So, to help everyone enjoy this delicious dip, we made our recipe allergen-free and 100% plant-based.

We made our vegan mayo with soaked and blended cashew nuts and whipped aquafaba. It's smooth, rich, flavorful, and low in fats.

Then, we added sour pickles, tangy lemon juice, oniony chives, and capers, all mixed into creamy goodness.

Time to get started!

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does homemade tartar sauce last?

When stored properly, it can keep for up to a week.

We recommend you keep this vegan dip in the fridge in a tight seal jar.

This way the sauce won't dry out, and it will stay fresher for longer.

Is the classic recipe vegan?

The traditional tartar sauce is prepared with mayonnaise which contains eggs.

Therefore, it isn't suitable for those following a plant-based diet or with egg allergy.

Our recipe, instead, is made with a nut-based mayo that is vegan and low in fats.

What can I use instead of the vegan mayo?

You can replace our cashew mayo with any other store-bought vegan mayonnaise.

Alternatively, swap it with plant-based yogurt such as coconut or soy yogurt or try to make it with hummus.

What is tartar sauce used for?

This creamy dip often accompanies fish dishes, like salmon, fish cakes, or shrimps.

However, it's just as perfect with many plant-based recipes.

For example, we love it as a sandwich filling, salad dressing, and healthy dip for breadsticks and crudités.

It also pairs wonderfully with bean burgers, roasted potatoes, and falafels.


Measuring System
Capers2 tsp
Pickled Gherkins50 g
Fresh Chives2 tbsp
Fresh Parsley2 tbsp
Lemon Juice2 tbsp
Vegan Mayorecipe200 g

Step 1

On a chopping board, finely chop the capers, gherkins, chives, and parsley.

Chopped capers, gherkins and herbs

Step 2

Add the chopped herbs and pickles to a bowl along with the mayonnaise and lemon juice.

To prepare the vegan mayo follow our recipe here.

Lemon juice and mayo mixed with tartar ingredients

Step 3

Stir the ingredients well into a creamy sauce and keep it in the fridge.

Check out our FAQ below for tasty ideas on what to serve this tartar sauce with.

Vegan tartar sauce in a bowl


You can swap chives with fresh dill or finely chopped shallots.